Tracker / Nigeria / 2024 / Seven companies (four banks and three ot
§ Tracker · Nigeria · NDPC · 2024

Seven companies (four banks and three others; names not disclosed)

Settlement with remedial fines. NDPC, 11 June 2024.

Record ID
ng-ndpc-2024-0001
Jurisdiction
Nigeria
Regulator
NDPC
Type
settlement
Date decided
11 June 2024
Respondent type
private
Sector
banking
Violations
data breach, unauthorised processing
Provisions cited
NDPA 2023
Outcome
settlement with remedial fines
Penalty
NGN 400,000,000 (≈ USD 270,000 at the decision date)
Status
final
Source
Official document ↗
Source integrity
SHA-256 0612ced7a407638b…
Record verified
30 July 2026

The facts

The NDPC's National Commissioner announced on 11 June 2024, at a session marking the first anniversary of the Nigeria Data Protection Act, that seven companies, four banks and three other companies, had paid a combined 400 million naira in remediation fees for compromising Nigerians' data. The Commission reported completing over 1,000 investigations across education, financial institutions, real estate, schools, insurance and consulting, with about 400 cases involving digital lending companies.

Orders and outcome

The 400 million naira was collected as remediation fees under the Commission's power to fine companies depending on the nature of the breach, its impact on the data subject and the level of cooperation. The companies were not named in the announcement.

BANKING · DATA-BREACH · AGGREGATE-SETTLEMENT

Cite this decision

NDPC (Nigeria), Seven companies (four banks and three others; names not disclosed), settlement of 11 June 2024. African Data Protection Enforcement Tracker, Law Lab Africa Research, https://research.lawlab.africa/tracker/nigeria/ndpc/2024/seven-companies-aggregate-settlement/ (accessed 30 August 2026).

Track Nigeria enforcement

Get decision alerts by email

Tell us your jurisdictions and we email you when a regulator's decision passes verification. Privacy.